Skip to content

Orchard

Red Fern Farms

U-pick cherries and pears in Grandview, Iowa

U-pick confirmed on the farm's website

From the farm's website

The farm's own words, quoted as posted on its website, with the page each line comes from and the day we read it. Seasons, hours and prices change: check with the farm before you go.

U-pick

The Red Shed at Red Fern Farm

“You-pick at Red Fern Farm is by reservation.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Young harvester admiring a pawpaw

“Google Maps knows us as “Red Fern Farm You-Pick”.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Season

“Hazels : In 2026 the season looks like mid- August to early September is Hazel season.”

“Usually the season runs mid-September to the first hard freeze in October.”

“In 2026 we believe the season will run 2 weeks early, peaking in mid-September.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Crops and picking times

Young harvester admiring a pawpaw

“Cornelian Cherries : There is a good crop of mid-August ripening Cornelian cherries this year and a decent crop of late-August and early-September ripening Cornelian cherries.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Hours

The Red Shed at Red Fern Farm

“Picking hours are 1:00 PM until sunset.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Prices

“If you are harvesting something like Aronia, plums or hazels we will take the $25 ahead of time and you get to pick all you want.”

“Each checkout transaction has a $25 minimum.”

“Group size cost is flexible but generally averages to $12.50/adult.”

“We sell them at $3.00/pound for you-pick.”

“Hazels are $2.00/pound for un-husked clusters or $3.00/pound husked nuts for you-pick.”

“Unmarked pawpaws are $4.00/pound when you pick them, $6.00/pound when we pick them.”

“Marked pawpaws are $10.00/pound (these fruits are collected for their valuable seeds).”

“Price is $2.00/pound when you pick them, $3.00/pound when we pick them.”

“Asian pears are available at $3.00/pound when you pick them, $4.00/pound when we pick.”

“If you husk the nut so that you have mostly just the heartnut, they are $5/pound.”

“If you leave the green, moist husk on, they are $3/pound.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Before you go

“If you cancel the reservation with short notice, and we can’t schedule anyone to fill your harvest date you lose this deposit.”

“This is a safe area for children, but no dogs or cats are allowed on the ground (food security issues).”

“Bring bags, buckets or boxes to collect into.”

“Bring buckets, boxes or crates to carry your fruit home.”

“They should not be piled deeply in your gathering container.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

Besides picking

“We have clean latrines, hand washing stations and picnic tables at the main parking areas.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/category/you-pick, checked October 6, 2026

“Pruning in the wrong season may result in sap flow which may attract picnic beetles (family nitidulidae).”

“Picnic beetles frequently carry the spores of the oak wilt fungus Bretziella fagacearum on their legs.”

Source: redfernfarm.com/index.php/helpful-info/chestnuts-2/pruning-…, checked October 6, 2026

What you can pick

  • Cherries
  • Pears

Crops and months read from the lines quoted above; a crop with no months is one the farm names without a picking window.

CropHowMonthsWhen (farm)Varieties
CherriesU-pickNot stated–
PearsU-pickNot stated–

At a glance

Picking months
Usually September–OctoberMonths the farm’s website gives; it lists no dates for a specific season.
Address
13882 I Ave, Grandview, IALouisa County

Besides picking

  • Picnic area

Red Fern Farms: questions

Does Red Fern Farms have U-pick?

Yes. The farm's website says: "You-pick at Red Fern Farm is by reservation."

Read from the farm's website redfernfarm.com on October 6, 2026 (5 pages). Picking depends on the weather and the crop: always confirm with the farm before you go. The name, address, website and map point come from a public map listing.

Run this farm or spotted a mistake? Send a correction or read how we verify farms.